

Message from Clerk of the Course.

8th February 2024.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all competitors and their teams for entering our event this year. The club is very pleased with the success of the event and how well it ran for us. The weather was mixed, which made the stages challenging, so very well done to all finishers and award winners.

Congratulations to Keith and Mikie on a great win, 8 years after last taking part, (and winning), in 2016.

Congratulations to David Quigley & Dean Raftery who were the first Galway crew home on the event and winners of the Brian G.Thornton Perpetual Trophy.

I was delighted to able to avail of the facilities of both Galway Racecourse and Galway Airport, venues which I know were appreciated by all. The Race Course co-ordinator, Dylan McKeon, and the Service Park co-ordinator, Mark Parsons, and their teams put in huge work over days and nights to make this happen, and I would like to thank them on your behalf.

Thanks also go to all stage teams and of course almost 300 marshals, timekeepers and other volunteers who were the heroes of the weekend. Well done Patsy Finnerty, Kenneth Lee and James Comer – unbelievable job lads!

Thanks to the administration staff, managed by Ellie and Amanda, and to the team on the road, under Padraic Murray, Assistant Clerk of the Course, and Joe Donoghue, Deputy Clerk of the Course, and my event Safety Officer, Dave Ray for tremendous work for many months.

I hope that you enjoyed the event, and best wishes and every success in your future rallies, and I hope to see you all again in 2025!

Gary Leonard, Clerk of the Course.











